CCM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CCM is administered by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA), not a healthcare or compliance body sharing the same initials.
  • The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions; the scored/unscored split is not disclosed.
  • You need 70% overall and at least 50% on each of the ten published scoring parts to pass.
  • Eligibility requires six years of Professional membership and 300 total credits across three categories.

What CCM Actually Means on This Page

Before anything else: on ccmquiz.com, "CCM" refers exclusively to the Certified Club Manager designation issued by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA). If you've landed here comparing acronyms from other industries, this cheat sheet won't help - everything below is scoped strictly to the club management credential. If you want the full backstory on the acronym and governing body, our companion pieces What Is CCM? and CCM Meaning walk through it in more depth, and What Does CCM Stand For? covers the naming history in plain language.

This page is built as a single-screen reference: the numbers, domains, and mechanics you'd want pinned above your desk during the final weeks before test day. For a deeper study methodology, pair this with the CCM Study Guide 2026.

Exam Snapshot: Format, Scoring, and Open Questions

The CCM exam is a computer-based test delivered through an approved college or university proctor, typically after candidates complete CMAA's review course. Note that NCTA functions as a directory of testing locations - it is not itself the contracted testing provider, a distinction worth remembering if you see it referenced elsewhere.

  • Question count: 400 multiple-choice questions.
  • Scored vs. unscored: CMAA has not disclosed how many of those 400 questions count toward your final score.
  • Passing rule: at least 70% overall, and no less than 50% on each of ten published scoring parts.
  • Time limit: regional CMAA guidance in Australia and Europe references an eight-hour exam, but the current United States time limit has not been independently verified. Don't assume that figure applies to a US sitting.
  • Open-book / calculator / remote-proctor rules: unverified for the US exam. Treat any regional closed-book or calculator policy as not automatically transferable.
Watch the ten-vs-eleven discrepancy: CMAA's competency-areas page lists eleven core competency areas used for curriculum and preparation. Its current certification program page, however, still publishes a passing rule based on ten scoring parts. A July 24, 2026 CMAA announcement states the exam assesses all eleven competencies, yet the program page hasn't been updated to show an eleven-part scoring map. Don't relabel the eleven competencies as eleven scoring sections - that mapping is not confirmed.

For a full breakdown of what that scoring discrepancy means for your prep plan, see our dedicated CCM Passing Score 2026 article. And if you're trying to gauge overall difficulty before committing to a testing window, How Hard Is the CCM Exam? digs into the format questions above in more detail.

The 11 Core Competency Areas

CMAA's published preparation scope covers eleven core competency areas. These represent the issuer's curriculum structure - not a confirmed percentage-weighted scoring blueprint. Treat the list below as "what to study," not "how many points each is worth."

Domain 1: Club Governance

Board structure, bylaws, committee relationships, and the manager's role in policy execution versus policy-making.

  • Distinguish board authority from management authority
  • Know typical committee structures in private clubs

Domain 4: Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics

Club-specific financial statements, budgeting cycles, capital reserve planning, and using data analytics to support board decisions.

  • Read a club balance sheet and operating statement
  • Understand dues/assessment structures and reserve funding

Domain 9: Food and Beverage

Catering operations, menu engineering, cost controls, and service standards specific to private club dining.

  • Food and labor cost ratios in a club setting
  • Banquet and a la carte operational differences

The remaining eight areas - Interpersonal Skills, Leadership, External Governmental Influences, Human and Professional Resources, Membership and Marketing, Facilities Management, Golf/Sports/Recreation/Wellness, and Information Technology - each carry their own vocabulary and scenario-based question styles. A full walkthrough of all eleven, including how they interrelate, is in our CCM Exam Domains 2026 guide.

Key Takeaway

Study the eleven competency areas as your content map, but don't assume each maps cleanly to one of the ten scoring parts - build your review around mastery of topics, not a guessed point allocation.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

CCM costs are layered: a core exam fee, a petition fee tied to eligibility review, and optional preparation costs that vary depending on how you choose to study.

ItemCostNotes
Exam fee$200Required to sit the exam
Petition fee$100Non-refundable, part of eligibility review
Retest fee$150If you need to retake the exam
Review course (in person)$2,300Optional
Review course (virtual)$1,600Optional
Online textbook$85Fourth Edition chapters rolling out

Professional membership is required, and there is no verified non-member exam fee or pathway. BMI education coursework, additional membership dues, and travel to conferences or review sessions are all separate from the figures above. For the complete cost picture including how these pieces combine across a multi-year eligibility timeline, read CCM Certification Cost 2026.

No "exam only" shortcut: Because Professional membership is required and no non-member exam path has been verified, budget for ongoing membership dues as part of your total cost - not just the one-time exam and petition fees.

Eligibility: Membership, Credits, and Coursework

US eligibility to sit the CCM exam is built on tenure plus credits, not just coursework completion:

  • Membership tenure: six years of Professional membership.
  • Total credits: 300, split across three categories - 200 Education, 50 Association Activity, and 50 additional credits.
  • Education credit minimums: within the 200 Education credits, at least 100 must be CMAA credits and at least 25 must be chapter credits, subject to published exceptions.
  • Required coursework: BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer, and one eligible elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation.
  • Workshops and conferences: two pre-approved workshops, plus either one World Conference with four education sessions or two full Mid-Management conferences.

One wrinkle worth flagging: CMAA's general credits page states 25 Association Activity credits, while the specific credit table says 50. This conflict isn't resolved publicly - confirm your actual requirement during petition review rather than assuming either number. Also note that under the legacy-credit policy, new experience credits do not accrue, so don't count on informal on-the-job time substituting for documented credits.

No separate mandatory degree requirement or reference-letter requirement has been verified, so don't pad your preparation timeline worrying about unconfirmed prerequisites. For the complete eligibility checklist with credit category definitions, see CCM Requirements 2026.

A Domain-by-Domain Study Sequence

Rather than a generic week-by-week template, sequence your review around the competency areas you're weakest in and the ones most central to day-to-day club operations, since those tend to generate the most scenario-based questions.

Weeks 1-2

Governance and Leadership

  • Club Governance: board vs. management authority, bylaws
  • Leadership: decision-making frameworks used in club settings
Weeks 3-4

Finance and Operations

  • Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics: budgeting, reserves, ratios
  • Facilities Management: maintenance planning and capital projects
Weeks 5-6

People and Revenue

  • Human and Professional Resources: staffing, labor policy
  • Membership and Marketing: retention and recruitment strategy
Weeks 7-8

Service Lines and Compliance

  • Food and Beverage: cost control, catering operations
  • Golf, Sports, Recreation, and Wellness: amenity management
  • External Governmental Influences and Information Technology: regulatory and systems awareness

This sequencing front-loads the domains most club managers already touch daily (governance, finance, leadership) and saves the more specialized operational areas for later review, when you have more bandwidth for detail-heavy material like F&B cost formulas. If you want a more exhaustive breakdown of what belongs in each week, the CCM Study Guide 2026 expands this into a longer-form plan.

Keeping Your CCM Current

Earning the designation isn't the end of the credit-tracking process - CCM credentials carry a five-year validity period.

  • Validity: 5 years from certification.
  • Renewal education requirement: 120 Education credits during that period.
  • Minimum within that: at least 60 credits must be CMAA, CMI, or chapter credits.
  • Exemptions: retired members are exempt from the renewal education requirement.
  • Renewal fee: not verified for the US program - don't assume a specific dollar figure.

Because the renewal clock runs continuously, many working managers treat conference attendance and chapter involvement as ongoing credit-gathering rather than a last-minute scramble before their five-year mark.

Key Takeaway

Track your 120 renewal credits the same way you tracked your original 300 eligibility credits - in categories, not just a running total, since the 60-credit CMAA/CMI/chapter minimum is a separate checkpoint.

Once you're certified, the designation opens doors with private clubs, country clubs, city clubs, and golf and athletic facilities that specifically look for CMAA-credentialed general managers and COOs. If you're still weighing whether the time and cost investment make sense for your career stage, Is the CCM Certification Worth It? and CCM Salary Guide 2026 cover that analysis in detail, and CCM Jobs looks at where the designation shows up in hiring listings.

Use our practice test platform to turn this cheat sheet into active recall - reading domain names is one thing, but answering scenario questions about reserve funding or committee structure under exam-like conditions is what actually builds exam readiness. If timing is your main constraint right now, check CCM Exam Dates 2026 before locking in a study schedule, and revisit the main CCM practice question bank regularly as you move through each domain.

FAQ

Is the CCM exam scored on ten sections or eleven competencies?

CMAA's current certification program page publishes a passing rule based on ten scoring parts, while its competency-areas page and a 2026 announcement describe eleven core competencies used for exam content. The two sources haven't been reconciled publicly, so don't assume an eleven-part scoring map exists.

How many questions are on the CCM exam?

The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed how many are scored versus unscored.

What's the minimum score to pass the CCM exam?

You need at least 70% overall, and you cannot score below 50% in any of the ten published scoring parts - a strong overall average won't save you if one part falls short.

Do I need to be a CMAA member to take the CCM exam?

Professional membership is required, and no verified non-member exam fee or pathway exists. Budget for membership dues alongside the exam and petition fees.

How long is the CCM certification valid once earned?

Five years. Maintaining it requires 120 Education credits, with at least 60 coming from CMAA, CMI, or chapter sources; retired members are exempt from this requirement.

Ready to pass your CCM exam?

Put this into practice with free CCM questions across every exam domain.