- CCM stands for Certified Club Manager, administered by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA).
- The exam is 400 multiple-choice questions covering 11 published core competency areas.
- US eligibility requires six years of Professional membership plus 300 total credits across education, association activity, and additional categories.
- Published passing rule is at least 70% overall and 50% in each of the exam's ten scoring parts.
What Is CCM, Exactly?
CCM stands for Certified Club Manager, a professional credential for people who run private clubs - golf clubs, country clubs, city clubs, yacht clubs, and similar membership-based organizations. It is not a general management certificate and it is not interchangeable with any other acronym that happens to share the same three letters. If you've landed here searching for "what is CCM" and you're specifically interested in club operations leadership, you're in the right place.
This guide stays strictly within the scope of the Certified Club Manager credential as defined by its governing body. For a broader look at how this fits into the overall certification landscape, see our companion pieces on CCM Certification and CCM Meaning.
Who Administers the CCM Credential
The Certified Club Manager designation is issued by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA). This is a key distinction candidates should internalize early: the organization's current branding uses "Club Management," not an older "Club Managers" phrasing you may see referenced in outdated materials. CMAA owns the certification program, publishes the competency curriculum, and controls the exam delivery process.
Candidates sit the computer-based exam through an approved college or university proctor, or after completing CMAA's official review course. It's worth noting that NCTA functions only as a directory resource - it is not the contracted testing provider for this exam. If a prep resource implies otherwise, treat that as a red flag. For a side-by-side look at how this credential compares to loosely similar-sounding programs, see What Is CCM Certification?
Eligibility: Membership and Credit Requirements
Eligibility for the Certified Club Manager exam in the United States is not simply a matter of registering and paying a fee. CMAA requires:
- Six years of Professional membership with CMAA before you can sit the exam.
- 300 total credits, broken down as 200 Education credits, 50 Association Activity credits, and 50 additional credits.
- Within the Education bucket, at least 100 CMAA-specific credits and 25 chapter credits, subject to published exceptions on CMAA's eligibility pages.
Education requirements also include completing specific BMI (Business Management Institute) courses: BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer, and one eligible elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation. Candidates also need two pre-approved workshops and either one World Conference with four education sessions, or two full Mid-Management conferences.
Note also that new experience credits do not accrue under the legacy-credit policy, so long-tenured members should check how their history is counted. For the full breakdown of credit categories, BMI courses, and petition mechanics, read our dedicated CCM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify guide.
Exam Format and Question Style
The CCM exam consists of 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not publicly disclosed how many of those questions are scored versus unscored (pretest) items, so candidates should prepare as though every question counts.
On timing: guidance from Australian and European CMAA affiliates describes an eight-hour examination window, but that figure has not been independently verified as the current United States time limit. Don't assume a regional timer applies to your US sitting - if you need the confirmed number, check directly with CMAA before exam day rather than relying on secondhand regional references.
Several other operational details - open-book status, calculator permissions, remote-proctoring rules, scheduled breaks, and whether the exam uses adaptive delivery - are not independently verified for the US version. Regional closed-book or calculator policies from other countries should not be assumed to apply here. Similarly, no specific exam version (such as a "Fourth Edition" alignment) has been verified, though CMAA's Fourth Edition textbook chapters are rolling out progressively, which may affect which content vintage appears on your exam.
Key Takeaway
Don't import exam-day rules from another country's CCM guidance. Confirm US-specific timing, materials, and proctoring policies directly with CMAA before you schedule.
For the full mechanics of how questions are scored and what percentage you actually need, see CCM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
The 11 Core Competency Areas
CMAA structures candidate preparation around eleven published core competency areas. These represent the issuer's curriculum scope - not a verified, percentage-weighted scoring blueprint. In fact, CMAA's current examination page still describes the passing rule using ten scoring parts, while a July 24, 2026 CMAA announcement states the exam assesses all eleven competencies. That discrepancy exists in CMAA's own published materials and should not be smoothed over by inventing a tidy eleven-section scoring map.
The eleven competency areas are:
Domain 1: Club Governance
Covers board relations, bylaws, committee structures, and the governance framework unique to member-owned clubs.
- Understand the manager's role relative to the board and committees
Domain 2: Interpersonal Skills
Focuses on communication, conflict resolution, and service culture within a membership organization.
- Apply service recovery and member-relations principles
Domain 3: Leadership
Addresses leading staff and departments, decision-making, and organizational culture-building.
- Distinguish leadership style application across departments
Domain 4: Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics
Covers budgeting, financial statements, and the data literacy expected of modern club managers.
- Interpret club financial reports and KPIs
Domain 5: External Governmental Influences
Covers regulatory, legal, and compliance factors affecting club operations.
- Recognize applicable employment and liquor-related regulations
Domain 6: Human and Professional Resources
Covers staffing, HR policy, hiring, and professional development planning.
- Apply HR fundamentals to a hospitality-staff environment
Domain 7: Membership and Marketing
Covers member recruitment, retention, and marketing strategy for private clubs.
- Evaluate membership-growth and retention tactics
Domain 8: Facilities Management
Covers maintenance, capital planning, and physical-plant oversight.
- Prioritize capital-reserve and maintenance decisions
Domain 9: Food and Beverage
Covers F&B operations, catering, and dining-service management specific to club settings.
- Apply cost-control principles to club dining operations
Domain 10: Golf, Sports, Recreation, and Wellness
Covers golf operations and other recreational amenities common to club environments.
- Understand golf-course and amenity management basics
Domain 11: Information Technology
Covers technology systems used in club administration and member services.
- Recognize how club-management software supports operations
Because the practice-question allocation across these areas is editorial rather than officially weighted, treat any domain breakdown you see - including ours - as a study organizer, not a guaranteed scoring map. For a deeper walkthrough of each domain with subtopics, visit CCM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Fees and Registration Mechanics
Budgeting for the CCM credential involves more than one line item. The core costs are:
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Exam fee | $200 |
| Petition fee (non-refundable) | $100 |
| Retest fee (if needed) | $150 |
| Optional review course (in-person) | $2,300 |
| Optional review course (virtual) | $1,600 |
| Online textbook | $85 |
CMAA Professional membership is required, and there is no verified non-member exam path or fee. Beyond the figures above, required BMI coursework, ongoing membership dues, and travel to conferences or workshops add further cost - and those are candidate-specific rather than fixed fees. For the complete cost picture including how optional review courses fit into a realistic budget, see CCM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Who Hires CCM Holders
The CCM designation is recognized specifically within the private club industry. Hiring organizations typically include:
- Private golf and country clubs seeking a General Manager or Chief Operating Officer
- City and athletic clubs looking for senior club management leadership
- Yacht and recreational clubs hiring for multi-department operational oversight
- Club management companies that place and develop managers across multiple properties
Because the credential ties directly to the eleven competency areas above - governance, finance, F&B, facilities, HR, and more - employers in this space treat it as a signal that a candidate can run the full breadth of club operations, not just one department. For a candid look at how the credential affects job prospects and compensation, see CCM Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and browse current openings via CCM Jobs.
How to Approach Preparation
Generic study techniques only help if they're mapped to CCM's actual structure. Given that the exam draws from 400 questions across eleven competency areas with an undisclosed scored/unscored split, the smarter approach is to sequence your review by domain density and personal weak spots rather than studying alphabetically or by textbook chapter order.
Governance, Leadership, and Interpersonal Skills
- Review board/committee structures under Club Governance
- Study decision-making frameworks tied to Leadership
- Practice scenario-based questions on Interpersonal Skills
Finance, HR, and External Influences
- Work through budgeting and financial-statement questions for Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics
- Cover HR policy basics under Human and Professional Resources
- Review regulatory topics under External Governmental Influences
Operations: F&B, Facilities, Recreation, IT, Marketing
- Drill Food and Beverage cost-control scenarios
- Review Facilities Management capital-planning logic
- Finish with Golf/Sports/Recreation and Information Technology, then a full-length practice run
Because the ten-versus-eleven scoring discrepancy means you can't rely on a precise percentage weighting, this kind of coverage-first schedule protects you against under-studying any one domain. For a structured week-by-week plan with more detail, see our CCM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and gauge your readiness honestly in How Hard Is the CCM Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Maintaining the Credential
Earning the CCM designation isn't the end of the obligation. The credential is valid for five years, after which maintenance requires 120 Education credits, with at least 60 of those coming from CMAA, CMI, or chapter sources. Retired members are exempt from this renewal cycle. The specific US renewal fee has not been independently verified, so confirm current pricing directly with CMAA when your cycle approaches.
Because ongoing education ties back to the same competency structure used for initial certification, managers who stay current on domains like Information Technology and Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics tend to find renewal credits easier to accumulate, since those areas evolve fastest in day-to-day club operations.
Frequently Asked Questions
In this article, CCM stands for Certified Club Manager, a credential issued by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA). For a dedicated breakdown of the acronym, see What Does CCM Stand For? and What Does CCM Mean?
The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed the exact scored-versus-unscored split, so candidates should treat the full set as relevant to their result.
Eligibility requires six years of Professional CMAA membership along with 300 total credits across education, association activity, and additional categories, plus specific BMI coursework and conference requirements.
No verified non-member exam fee or path currently exists. CMAA Professional membership is required as part of the eligibility structure.
CMAA's current examination page states a ten-part passing rule (70% overall, 50% per part), while a July 2026 CMAA announcement references eleven core competency areas assessed by the exam. Both statements appear in official CMAA sources, and the discrepancy has not been resolved publicly.
For related background on this credential and how it fits into job-market research, you can also explore What Is CCM?, What Is A CCM?, CCM Training, CCM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling, Is the CCM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, CCM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and the CCM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. You can also start practicing with real exam-style questions right now on the CCM Exam Prep practice platform.