CCM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • CMAA has not publicly disclosed an overall CCM pass rate for the United States exam.
  • The published passing rule is at least 70% overall and 50% in each of ten parts.
  • CMAA's current program page lists ten scoring sections, while its July 24, 2026 outlook announcement references eleven core competencies - a documented...
  • The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions; the scored/unscored split has not been disclosed.

Why There's No Official Overall CCM Pass Rate

If you've searched for a single number that tells you "X% of candidates pass the CCM exam," you've probably noticed something frustrating: that number doesn't exist in any CMAA publication. The Club Management Association of America, which administers the Certified Club Manager credential, has not released an aggregate national pass rate for its computer-based exam. This is different from many other certification programs that publish annual pass-rate reports, and it matters for how you should plan your preparation.

Without an official rate, any blog or forum post citing a specific percentage for CCM is either guessing, quoting outdated anecdotal chatter, or - as has happened before online - mixing up Certified Club Manager with an entirely different credential that happens to share the same three letters. If you're trying to understand what is CCM in the club management context specifically, it's worth anchoring yourself to CMAA's own materials rather than secondhand summaries.

Reality Check: There is no verified, published overall pass rate for the Certified Club Manager exam. Treat any specific percentage you see elsewhere with skepticism unless it links directly to a CMAA source.

What the CMAE Review-Course Result Actually Tells You

The one concrete data point that does circulate is a July 2025 result associated with CMAE, reportedly showing a 100% pass result. It's tempting to treat this as proof that the exam is easy or that review-course graduates sail through. That reading would be a mistake for two reasons.

First, the size of that cohort was unspecified - a small, self-selected group of candidates who completed a structured review course is not the same population as every professional sitting the exam nationwide. Second, candidates who invest in an in-person or virtual review course (CMAA's optional review runs $2,300 in person or $1,600 virtual, plus an $85 online textbook) are often further along in their eligibility journey, meaning they've already accumulated significant education credits before testing. A 100% result in that narrow context says more about course selection and candidate readiness than it does about overall exam difficulty.

Key Takeaway

Don't extrapolate a single review-course cohort's result into a national pass rate claim. Use it as weak circumstantial evidence that structured preparation helps - nothing more.

The Published Passing Rule: 70% and 50% Per Part

While the pass rate is undisclosed, the passing rule is published, and it's the more useful number for your planning. To pass, you need at least 70% correct overall, combined with at least 50% correct in each of ten scoring parts. This dual threshold means you can't compensate for a weak section by over-performing elsewhere - you must clear the 50% floor in every one of the ten parts in addition to hitting 70% overall.

This structure has real strategic implications. It rewards broad competence across every tested area rather than deep specialization in one or two domains. If food and beverage operations are your strongest area because you've run a clubhouse kitchen for a decade, that strength won't offset a 40% score in, say, accounting and finance - you'd fail on the per-part floor even with a strong overall average. For a full breakdown of how this scoring threshold works in practice, see CCM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Published Passing Rule: 70% overall minimum, plus at least 50% correct in each of ten parts. This is CMAA's stated rule - do not apply it loosely to the eleven differently named core competency areas, which is a separate framework.

Ten Scoring Sections vs. Eleven Core Competencies

Here's where a lot of confusion creeps into CCM study materials, and it's worth addressing head-on rather than papering over it. CMAA's competency-areas page describes eleven core competency areas that guide curriculum and preparation. Separately, CMAA's current certification program page still states that the passing rule applies across ten scoring parts. Then, in a July 24, 2026 outlook announcement, CMAA stated that the examination assesses all eleven core competencies.

These two statements - ten scoring sections on the program page, eleven competencies referenced in the outlook announcement - have not been reconciled into a single, verified mapping. No official percentage-weighted scoring blueprint ties specific competencies to specific scored sections. If you see a study resource claiming "Domain 7 is worth 12% of your score," treat that as editorial estimation, not a confirmed CMAA weighting, because no such breakdown has been published.

What this means practically: prepare across all eleven competency areas listed below, because that's the curriculum scope CMAA itself publishes for exam preparation. But don't assume each one corresponds to its own isolated scored section, and don't assume equal weighting. For a deeper look at how these eleven areas are organized and why the ten-versus-eleven distinction exists, read CCM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.

Exam Format: 400 Questions and What Remains Unverified

The CCM exam consists of 400 multiple-choice questions, delivered as a computer-based test through an approved college or university proctor, or after completing CMAA's review course. CMAA's NCTA listing functions as a directory of locations rather than the contracted testing provider itself, so don't assume NCTA runs the exam administration.

Several format details that candidates often ask about are simply not independently verified for the current United States version of the exam:

  • Time limit - Australian and European CCM guidance describes an eight-hour examination, but that regional figure should not be treated as a confirmed United States time limit.
  • Open-book or closed-book status, calculator policy, remote-proctor availability, and break rules - none of these are confirmed for the US exam, and regional rules should not be imported silently.
  • Scored versus unscored question split within the 400 items - undisclosed.
  • Exam version or edition alignment - no explicit version is verified, and the Fourth Edition textbook chapters are still rolling out, which may affect which content version you're tested on depending on timing.

Rather than guessing at these specifics, plan your test-day logistics directly with your proctoring site and confirm current rules close to your scheduled date. For a broader look at scheduling mechanics and deadlines, see CCM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Domain-by-Domain Breakdown of Exam Content

Since no verified percentage weighting exists, the smartest approach is to treat all eleven competency areas as must-know territory rather than trying to guess which ones carry more scoring weight. Here's what each covers at a practical level.

Domain 1: Club Governance

Board structure, bylaws, committee relationships, and the general manager's role in policy execution versus board policy-setting.

  • Distinguishing governance authority from management authority

Domain 2: Interpersonal Skills

Communication with members, staff, and boards across conflict situations and day-to-day club operations.

  • Scenario-based judgment questions rather than pure recall

Domain 3: Leadership

Organizational culture, decision-making frameworks, and staff development within a club's management hierarchy.

  • Leadership theory applied to club-specific situations

Domain 4: Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics

Financial statement interpretation, budgeting cycles, and data-driven decision-making for club operations.

  • Often cited by candidates as one of the more technically demanding areas

Domain 5: External Governmental Influences

Regulatory, tax, and legal factors affecting private club operations.

  • Requires familiarity with club-specific regulatory nuances, not general business law

Domain 6: Human and Professional Resources

Staffing, HR policy, labor considerations, and professional development pathways within club management.

Domain 7: Membership and Marketing

Member recruitment, retention strategy, and marketing specific to private club environments.

Domain 8: Facilities Management

Physical plant operations, capital planning, and maintenance oversight across clubhouse and grounds.

Domain 9: Food and Beverage

F&B operations, cost control, and service standards within the club dining and event context.

Domain 10: Golf, Sports, Recreation, and Wellness

Operational oversight of golf, athletic, and wellness amenities common to private clubs.

Domain 11: Information Technology

Technology systems supporting club operations, from member management platforms to data security basics.

Because the ten-versus-eleven discrepancy means these competencies don't map one-to-one onto ten confirmed scoring parts, your safest strategy is comprehensive coverage. A structured resource that walks through each area in sequence, like CCM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, can help you avoid leaving any competency under-prepared.

Eligibility and Fees That Filter Who Sits the Exam

Pass rate discussions often ignore a key filtering factor: who actually qualifies to sit the CCM exam in the first place. Eligibility requires six years of Professional membership and 300 total credits, broken into 200 Education credits, 50 Association Activity credits, and 50 additional credits. Within the Education credits, at least 100 must be CMAA credits and at least 25 must be chapter credits, subject to published exceptions. Note that CMAA's general credits page states 25 Association Activity credits in one place while a specific table elsewhere states 50 - this conflict should be confirmed directly during your petition review rather than assumed either way.

Candidates must also complete BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, and BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer coursework, plus one eligible elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation, two pre-approved workshops, and either one World Conference with four education sessions or two full Mid-Management conferences. New experience credits do not accrue under the legacy-credit policy, which matters if you're returning to the pathway after a gap.

On the fee side, the exam itself costs $200, with a $100 non-refundable petition fee and a $150 retest fee if needed. Professional membership is required, and no verified non-member exam path exists. The optional review course adds $2,300 in person or $1,600 virtual, plus $85 for the online textbook, on top of required BMI education, membership dues, and travel. Because eligibility is this credit-intensive, many candidates who eventually sit the exam have already spent years building competency - which is likely part of why cohort-level results (like the CMAE example above) can look strong without reflecting a universal pass rate. For the complete fee picture, see CCM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for the full eligibility checklist, see CCM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Cost ItemAmountRequired?
Exam fee$200Yes
Petition fee$100 (non-refundable)Yes
Retest fee$150Only if retesting
Review course (in person)$2,300Optional
Review course (virtual)$1,600Optional
Online textbook$85Optional

Building a Study Plan Around an Unknown Pass Rate

When you don't have a published pass rate to calibrate against, your planning has to lean on the rule you do have: 70% overall, 50% in each part. That rule tells you exactly where your risk sits - not in your average score, but in any single weak area dragging you below the floor. Structure your remaining study weeks around identifying and shoring up your weakest competency first, not your strongest.

Early Weeks

Diagnostic pass across all 11 competencies

  • Light review of Club Governance, Interpersonal Skills, and Leadership to identify gaps
  • Flag any competency where you feel uncertain, regardless of how "big" it seems
Middle Weeks

Concentrate on technical domains

  • Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics typically needs the most repetition for non-finance backgrounds
  • Facilities Management and Information Technology often get under-studied - don't skip them
Final Weeks

Full-scope practice under the real passing rule

  • Run practice sets that score you against the 50%-per-part floor, not just overall percentage
  • Revisit Membership and Marketing, Food and Beverage, and Golf/Sports/Recreation/Wellness for recency

This is the one place where general study methodology is worth mentioning: spacing your review of the technical domains (Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics; Information Technology) earlier, rather than cramming them at the end, tends to work better because they require more layered understanding than recall-heavy areas like Club Governance. Practicing under realistic multiple-choice conditions using CCM Exam Prep's practice platform throughout this period - not just at the end - helps you catch per-domain weaknesses before they become a per-part failure on exam day.

If you're still deciding whether the investment of time, credits, and fees is worthwhile given the lack of a public pass rate, it helps to zoom out to the bigger picture of career return. See Is the CCM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CCM Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis for how the credential is positioned by employers hiring general managers and club executives.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the official CCM pass rate?

CMAA has not publicly disclosed an overall pass rate for the United States Certified Club Manager exam. A July 2025 CMAE result reported 100% for a specific, unspecified-size review-course cohort - not a national figure.

How many questions are on the CCM exam?

The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions. The split between scored and unscored items within that total has not been disclosed.

What score do I need to pass?

The published rule requires at least 70% correct overall and at least 50% correct in each of ten parts. See CCM Passing Score 2026 for a full breakdown.

Are there 10 or 11 sections on the CCM exam?

CMAA's current program page states the passing rule applies to ten scoring parts, while its competency-areas page and a July 24, 2026 announcement reference eleven core competencies. This discrepancy has not been officially reconciled, so candidates should prepare across all eleven competency areas without assuming an exact one-to-one scoring map.

Is the time limit for the US CCM exam eight hours?

That eight-hour figure appears in Australian and European CCM guidance, not confirmed United States documentation. The current US time limit has not been independently verified, so confirm directly with your proctoring site before test day.

Because so much of the CCM exam's scoring mechanics sit in a gray zone between published rules and unverified assumptions, your best strategy is to prepare broadly across all eleven competencies, respect the documented 70%/50% passing threshold, and verify logistics directly with CMAA rather than relying on secondhand percentages. For related groundwork, you may also want to review How Hard Is the CCM Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 and keep a condensed reference like CCM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts on hand as your test date approaches.

Ready to pass your CCM exam?

Put this into practice with free CCM questions across every exam domain.