- What "CCM Training" Actually Covers
- The BMI Education Pathway Behind the Credential
- Eligibility Credits: The 300-Credit Framework
- Exam Format and What Training Must Target
- Training and Exam Costs
- A Domain-by-Domain Training Plan
- Who Pursues CCM Training
- Building a Training Schedule That Respects the Material
- Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CCM training is governed by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA), not any other organization using the same initials.
- Core training runs through BMI courses: Club Management, Leadership Principles, General Manager/Chief Operating Officer, plus an elective.
- Eligibility requires six years of Professional membership and 300 total credits across education, association activity, and additional categories.
- The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions; CMAA's current page still cites a ten-part passing rule even as newer guidance references eleven competencies.
What "CCM Training" Actually Covers
When people search for "CCM Training," they're usually picturing study guides and practice questions for a single exam day. In reality, training for the Certified Club Manager credential is broader than that. It spans years of required education through the Club Management Association of America (CMAA), a structured credit system, and - only at the end - a 400-question computer-based exam. If you're still getting oriented to the basics, start with What Is CCM Certification? and CCM Certification before diving into the training mechanics below.
This article focuses specifically on what "training" means for this credential: the required coursework, the credit math behind eligibility, and how to structure preparation around CMAA's published content areas rather than generic exam-prep habits.
The BMI Education Pathway Behind the Credential
CCM training is built on CMAA's BMI (Business Management Institute) course series. Before you ever sit for the exam, you're expected to complete:
- BMI Club Management - foundational operational and governance content
- BMI Leadership Principles - people-management and leadership coursework
- BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer - executive-level club operations
- One eligible elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation, matched to your club's operating profile
Beyond these courses, candidates must also complete two pre-approved workshops and attend either one CMAA World Conference with four education sessions, or two full Mid-Management conferences. None of this is optional padding - it's part of the credit total required before you can petition to sit for the exam.
Key Takeaway
Treat BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, and BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer as your real "textbook" - the exam draws its competency scope from this same curriculum, not from a separate prep syllabus.
Eligibility Credits: The 300-Credit Framework
Separate from the coursework itself, CMAA requires candidates to accumulate credits across three categories before petitioning for the exam:
| Credit Category | Required Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Education Credits | 200 | Must include at least 100 CMAA credits and 25 chapter credits |
| Association Activity Credits | 50 | CMAA's general credits page lists 25 elsewhere - confirm the current figure at petition review |
| Additional Credits | 50 | Supplemental category rounding out the 300-credit total |
On top of the credit math, candidates need six years of Professional membership. Credits earned under a legacy policy do not convert into new experience credits, so if you've had a membership gap, don't assume older activity automatically counts - verify it directly with CMAA before you build a training timeline around it. For a full breakdown of prerequisites, see CCM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Exam Format and What Training Must Target
The CCM exam itself is a computer-based test delivered through an approved college or university proctor, typically after completing CMAA's review course. It contains 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed the exact scored-versus-unscored question split, so candidates shouldn't assume every question counts toward the final result - but they also shouldn't try to guess which ones don't.
One detail worth training around deliberately: CMAA's current certification page states a passing rule of at least 70% overall and at least 50% in each of ten scored parts. Separately, CMAA's own competency-area page and a 2026 Outlook announcement reference eleven core competency areas that the exam is said to assess. These two things have not been reconciled publicly - the ten-part scoring structure and the eleven-competency curriculum map are not the same thing, and no verified source maps all eleven competencies onto ten scoring sections. Build your training around the eleven competency areas (since that's the published curriculum scope), but don't assume each one is a separately graded section worth exactly 1/11 of your score.
Regarding time limits: some regional CMAA guidance (Australian and European) describes an eight-hour exam, but the current United States time limit has not been independently verified. Don't train against a specific U.S. clock figure you haven't confirmed directly with your proctor site.
Key Takeaway
Study the eleven published competency areas as your content map, but verify current scoring-section rules and time limits directly with CMAA before exam day - don't import assumptions from other regions or other credentials.
For a deeper breakdown of how the questions are structured and reportedly weighted in practice materials, see CCM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas, and for the exact scoring mechanics, read CCM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Training and Exam Costs
Budgeting for CCM training involves several separate line items, not one flat fee:
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Exam fee | $200 |
| Petition fee (non-refundable) | $100 |
| Retest fee | $150 |
| Optional review course (in person) | $2,300 |
| Optional review course (virtual) | $1,600 |
| Online textbook | $85 |
These figures don't include BMI course tuition, Professional membership dues, or travel to conferences and workshops - all of which are required components of eligibility, not optional extras. No verified non-member exam path exists, so Professional membership is effectively a prerequisite cost center, not a side option. For the complete financial picture across the full certification timeline, see CCM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
A Domain-by-Domain Training Plan
CMAA's published competency areas give you a concrete content map for training, even with the scoring-section ambiguity noted above. Here's how to think about each one:
Domain 1: Club Governance
Board structures, bylaws, committee relationships, and the general manager's role relative to ownership or membership governance.
- Understand the GM/COO's reporting relationship to a board
Domain 2: Interpersonal Skills
Conflict resolution, member relations, and communication across staff layers.
- Practice scenario-based reasoning, not just vocabulary recall
Domain 3: Leadership
Organizational leadership theory applied to the club environment, drawn heavily from BMI Leadership Principles coursework.
- Connect leadership models directly back to your BMI coursework notes
Domain 4: Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics
Budgeting, financial statement interpretation, and increasingly, data-driven decision making.
- Review club-specific financial statement formats, not generic corporate accounting
Domain 5: External Governmental Influences
Regulatory, tax, and legal considerations unique to private club operations.
- Focus on how regulation intersects with nonprofit or member-owned structures
Domain 6: Human and Professional Resources
Staffing, labor law basics, and professional development planning for club teams.
- Study HR policy application in a hospitality-staffing context
Domain 7: Membership and Marketing
Member acquisition, retention strategy, and communications planning.
- Understand membership lifecycle stages a GM is expected to manage
Domain 8: Facilities Management
Physical plant oversight, capital planning, and maintenance programs.
- Review long-term capital reserve planning concepts
Domain 9: Food and Beverage
F&B operations, cost control, and service standards specific to club dining.
- Pair this with the BMI elective if you chose the F&B track
Domain 10: Golf, Sports, Recreation, and Wellness
Operations oversight for golf, athletic, and wellness facilities within a club.
- Relevant depth here depends heavily on your elective choice
Domain 11: Information Technology
Club management systems, data security basics, and technology oversight responsibilities.
- Expect conceptual, management-level questions rather than technical IT detail
For a candidate-facing walkthrough of how these areas tend to show up in practice questions, see CCM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Who Pursues CCM Training
CCM training is primarily built for working club management professionals already inside the CMAA membership structure - general managers, assistant general managers, clubhouse managers, and department heads (F&B directors, membership directors) aiming toward a GM/COO track. Because eligibility requires six years of Professional membership and a sustained credit history, this isn't a credential most people pursue from outside the industry; it's a mid-to-late-career milestone layered on top of years of active club employment.
That context matters for how you train: the exam assumes you already have operational familiarity with clubs, so your preparation time is better spent closing specific knowledge gaps (finance, governance, IT oversight) than relearning hospitality basics you already practice daily. If you're weighing whether the time and cost commitment make sense for your career stage, Is the CCM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CCM Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis are worth reading before you commit to the full credit pathway. For a look at how the credential shows up in job postings, see CCM Jobs.
Building a Training Schedule That Respects the Material
Generic study techniques only help once they're mapped onto CCM's actual structure. A reasonable approach is to sequence your review around domain weight and personal familiarity rather than alphabetical order:
Governance, Leadership, Interpersonal Skills
- Review BMI Leadership Principles notes alongside Domain 1 and Domain 3 material
- Work through board-governance and conflict-resolution scenarios
Finance, HR, External Influences
- Spend extra time on Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics if this isn't your daily operational area
- Pair HR and regulatory content together since they often overlap in scenario questions
Membership, Facilities, F&B, Recreation
- Review your elective area (golf, F&B, or sports/recreation) in depth
- Light review of the other two areas for baseline familiarity
Information Technology and Full-Length Practice
- Review club management systems and data security concepts
- Run full-length practice sets through our practice test platform to simulate the 400-question format
Because the exam's exact scoring weighting isn't publicly broken down, avoid over-optimizing your schedule around assumed percentages. Instead, allocate more time to domains where your day-to-day job gives you less natural exposure - for most candidates, that means extra hours on finance, governance, and IT rather than operational areas they already manage daily. A more detailed weekly structure is available in CCM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and if you want a candid read on where candidates typically struggle, How Hard Is the CCM Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 is a useful companion piece.
Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
Passing the exam isn't the end of the training relationship with CMAA. The CCM credential carries a five-year validity period. To maintain it, certified managers need 120 education credits during that window, with at least 60 coming from CMAA, CMI, or chapter-level sources. Retired members are exempt from this ongoing requirement. The specific U.S. renewal fee has not been independently verified, so confirm current figures directly with CMAA rather than relying on older published numbers.
Practically, this means CCM training doesn't stop once you've passed - it shifts from exam preparation into ongoing professional education tracked against the same credit categories you used to qualify in the first place.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The review course ($2,300 in person or $1,600 virtual) is one optional component. Full CCM training also includes required BMI coursework, workshops, conference attendance, and years of accumulated eligibility credits.
The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed the exact split between scored and unscored items.
Yes, BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, and BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer are all required, along with one approved elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation.
Yes. Six years of Professional membership is part of the eligibility requirement, and no verified non-member exam path currently exists.
Not confirmed. CMAA's competency-area page and a 2026 announcement describe eleven competencies, while the current certification page still states a ten-part passing rule. Use the eleven areas as your content map, but don't assume a direct one-to-one scoring match.
For more foundational context before you start logging credits or scheduling BMI coursework, review What Is CCM?, CCM Meaning, and What Does CCM Stand For?. And when you're ready to test your readiness against realistic question formats, try our practice exams built around CMAA's published competency scope.