CCM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CCM Certification?

TL;DR
  • CCM is awarded by the Club Management Association of America (CMAA), not a healthcare or case-management body.
  • The exam is 400 multiple-choice questions covering CMAA's eleven published core competency areas.
  • Published US passing rule requires at least 70% overall and 50% in each of ten scored parts.
  • Eligibility requires six years of Professional membership and 300 total credits across education, association activity, and additional categories.

What Is CCM Certification?

Certified Club Manager (CCM) is a professional credential for leaders who operate private clubs - golf, country, city, athletic, and yacht clubs among them. It signals that a manager has combined years of hands-on club operations experience with structured education covering governance, finance, hospitality, and facilities oversight. Unlike generic hospitality certificates, CCM is built specifically around the operating realities of member-owned clubs: boards, committees, dues structures, and amenity-heavy facilities that blend food and beverage, recreation, and membership services under one roof.

If you landed here searching for a different "CCM," note that this article covers only Certified Club Manager as defined by the Club Management Association of America. Several other industries use the same three letters for unrelated credentials, and none of those facts apply here. For a broader definitional overview, see What Is CCM? and CCM Meaning.

Why the Name Matters: The credential's governing body is the Club Management Association of America - note the modern wording, not an older "Club Managers" phrasing you may see referenced elsewhere. Getting the issuing body right matters because it determines which exam content, fee structure, and eligibility rules actually apply to you.

Who Governs the Credential and Who Tests You

CMAA owns the CCM program end to end: it sets the eligibility criteria, administers the computer-based exam, and manages recertification. The exam itself is delivered through an approved college or university proctor, typically arranged after a candidate completes CMAA's review course. One frequent point of confusion is the National Club Association's directory - NCTA functions as a listing resource, not as the contracted testing provider for the CCM exam. If you're mapping out logistics, scheduling windows and proctor arrangements are covered in more depth in CCM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

For a plain-language breakdown of the acronym and the organization behind it, What Does CCM Stand For? and What Is A CCM? go deeper into the professional identity side of the credential, while this article focuses on the certification mechanics themselves.

Eligibility and the 300-Credit Path

CCM eligibility is not simply "pass the exam." Candidates must first accumulate six years of Professional membership in CMAA and reach 300 total credits distributed across three categories:

  • 200 Education credits, which must include at least 100 CMAA credits and at least 25 chapter credits (subject to published exceptions)
  • 50 Association Activity credits - though candidates should be aware CMAA's general credits page cites 25 Association Activity credits in one place, conflicting with the specific 50-credit table elsewhere; this discrepancy should be confirmed directly during petition review
  • 50 additional credits from other approved sources

Within the education requirement, candidates complete specific BMI (Business Management Institute) coursework: BMI Club Management, BMI Leadership Principles, BMI General Manager/Chief Operating Officer, and one elective in golf, food-and-beverage, or sports/recreation. Two pre-approved workshops are also required, along with either one World Conference including four education sessions or two full Mid-Management conferences. Note that under the legacy-credit policy, new experience credits do not accrue - a detail that trips up candidates who assume ongoing work automatically adds to their total. A full walkthrough of these mechanics lives in CCM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Key Takeaway

Before you spend a dollar on exam prep, confirm your credit breakdown directly with CMAA at petition review - the conflicting Association Activity credit figures (25 vs. 50) make self-tracking risky.

Exam Format and Question Style

The CCM exam consists of 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed the exact scored-versus-unscored split, so candidates should prepare assuming every question counts. You may encounter guidance from Australian or European CMAA-affiliated sources describing an eight-hour examination window - but that figure is tied to those regional programs, not independently verified as the current United States time limit. Treat any specific US timing claim you see elsewhere with caution until CMAA's program page confirms it.

Similarly, details like open-book status, calculator allowances, remote-proctoring options, scheduled breaks, and whether the exam adapts to performance are not independently verified for the US version. Regional closed-book or calculator rules from other CMAA affiliates should not be assumed to apply to US candidates. This is one reason generic exam-prep advice falls short for CCM - the logistics are genuinely different from other certification exams, and importing assumptions from other regions (or other credentials sharing the same acronym) will misguide your preparation. For a deeper dive into exam-day mechanics and difficulty factors, see How Hard Is the CCM Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

The Eleven Core Competency Areas

CMAA structures candidate preparation around eleven published core competency areas. These represent the issuer's competency-curriculum scope - they are not confirmed as a percentage-weighted scoring blueprint, and no verified topic-by-topic percentage breakdown exists publicly. The eleven areas are:

Domain 1: Club Governance

Board structure, bylaws, committee relationships, and the manager's role in supporting governance without overstepping it.

  • Understand the manager-board relationship and reporting lines

Domain 2: Interpersonal Skills

Communication with members, staff, and boards across a range of service and conflict scenarios.

  • Practice scenario-based reasoning, not just vocabulary

Domain 3: Leadership

Organizational leadership theory applied to club operations, staff development, and decision-making under member pressure.

Domain 4: Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics

Club-specific financial statements, budgeting cycles, dues structures, and increasingly, data-driven decision-making.

  • Expect quantitative reasoning questions, not just terminology recall

Domain 5: External Governmental Influences

Regulatory, tax, labor, and legal considerations unique to private club operations.

Domain 6: Human and Professional Resources

Staffing, HR compliance, training systems, and professional development planning for club teams.

Domain 7: Membership and Marketing

Member acquisition, retention strategy, and marketing specific to a dues-based, relationship-driven business model.

Domain 8: Facilities Management

Physical plant oversight, capital planning, and vendor/contractor management across clubhouse and grounds.

Domain 9: Food and Beverage

F&B operations at a scale and service style distinct from standalone restaurants - banquet, à la carte, and event service blended together.

Domain 10: Golf, Sports, Recreation, and Wellness

Operational oversight of amenity-driven revenue centers, from golf course agronomy basics to wellness programming.

Domain 11: Information Technology

Club management systems, member-facing technology, and data security considerations relevant to club operations.

Worth flagging directly: CMAA's July 24, 2026 announcement stated the exam assesses all eleven core competencies, yet the current program page still describes a ten-section passing rule. That discrepancy has not been resolved publicly, so candidates should not assume a clean one-to-one mapping between the eleven competencies and ten scored exam sections. For a full breakdown of each domain with study priorities, see CCM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.

Fees, Review Options, and Retest Costs

Budgeting for CCM involves several distinct line items. The exam itself costs $200, plus a $100 non-refundable petition fee required to apply for candidacy. If you don't pass on the first attempt, a retest costs $150. Professional membership is required to sit for the exam, and no verified non-member exam path exists.

Beyond the exam fee itself, CMAA offers an optional review course priced at $2,300 for in-person attendance or $1,600 for the virtual format. An online textbook is available separately for $85. None of these figures include required BMI coursework, ongoing membership dues, or travel to conferences and workshops - all of which add up across the multi-year eligibility path.

Cost ItemAmount
Exam fee$200
Petition fee (non-refundable)$100
Retest fee$150
Review course (in-person)$2,300
Review course (virtual)$1,600
Online textbook$85

For the complete cost picture including BMI course pricing and membership dues estimates, see CCM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Passing Score and the Ten-Part Rule

The published US passing rule requires candidates to score at least 70% overall and at least 50% in each of ten parts. This is the confirmed rule as currently published on CMAA's program page - it should not be silently reinterpreted as applying to the eleven competency areas described above, since CMAA has not published an official eleven-part scoring breakdown. Until that discrepancy is resolved by CMAA directly, treat the ten-part, 70%/50% structure as the governing rule for pass/fail determination.

The overall US pass rate is not publicly disclosed. You may see a figure referencing a July 2025 CMAE result showing a 100% pass rate - that number describes a selected review-course cohort of unspecified size, not the full candidate population, and should not be treated as a general pass-rate statistic. For more on how scoring actually works and what the ten-part rule means for your prep priorities, see CCM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and CCM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Don't Average Your Way to a Pass: Scoring 90% in Food and Beverage won't save you if you fall under 50% in Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics. The per-part minimum means weak domains can fail you even with a strong overall average.

Who Hires CCMs and Why It Matters

CCM holders are typically employed by private golf clubs, country clubs, city/athletic clubs, and yacht clubs - organizations where a general manager must coordinate governance, F&B, facilities, and member relations simultaneously. Boards and search committees at these clubs frequently list CCM as a preferred or required credential for general manager and assistant general manager roles, because it demonstrates both the tenure (six years of Professional membership) and the breadth of education the role demands. For candidates evaluating job market fit, CCM Jobs covers the kinds of positions where this credential carries weight, and CCM Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the CCM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 address the return-on-investment question in more depth.

Mapping a Study Timeline to the Domains

Because the exam spans eleven competency areas with no verified percentage weighting, a reasonable approach is to allocate study weeks by your own weak spots rather than assuming every domain deserves equal time. A candidate strong in Food and Beverage from years of operational experience might spend minimal review time there and instead front-load weeks on Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics or Information Technology - domains that tend to feel less intuitive to managers whose background is operations-heavy rather than numbers-heavy.

Weeks 1-2

Governance, Leadership, Interpersonal Skills

  • Review board/manager relationship structures and bylaws concepts
  • Work through interpersonal scenario questions
Weeks 3-4

Accounting, Finance, and Data Analytics

  • Practice reading club financial statements
  • Drill budgeting and dues-structure calculations
Weeks 5-6

Membership, Marketing, HR, External Influences

  • Study retention and marketing concepts specific to dues-based clubs
  • Review labor and regulatory basics
Weeks 7-8

Facilities, F&B, Golf/Sports/Recreation, IT

  • Take full-length practice sets across amenity-related domains
  • Identify any domain scoring near the 50% per-part minimum and re-drill it

For a structured, week-by-week study plan with more detail than a general timeline can offer, see CCM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. And for a condensed reference you can review in the final days before your exam, CCM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts consolidates must-know facts across all eleven areas. Running full-length practice sets on our practice test platform before test day is one of the few ways to simulate the 400-question format and find out which domain is actually dragging down your projected score.

Maintaining the Credential

CCM certification is valid for five years. To renew, holders must accumulate 120 Education credits during that period, including at least 60 CMAA, CMI, or chapter credits. Retired members are exempt from this requirement. The specific US renewal fee amount has not been independently verified, so candidates nearing their five-year mark should confirm current pricing directly with CMAA rather than relying on secondhand figures.

Key Takeaway

Treat CCM maintenance as an ongoing professional development habit, not a one-time hurdle - the 120-credit renewal requirement rewards managers who stay engaged with CMAA education between certification cycles.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CCM stand for in this context?

In this article, CCM stands for Certified Club Manager, a credential issued by the Club Management Association of America. Other industries use the same initials for unrelated credentials, so always confirm the issuing body when researching. See What Does CCM Mean? for more on avoiding this mix-up.

How many questions are on the CCM exam?

The exam contains 400 multiple-choice questions. CMAA has not disclosed how many are scored versus unscored, so candidates should prepare thoroughly across all eleven competency areas rather than guessing which questions count.

How long do I have to take the exam?

The current United States time limit has not been independently verified. Some regional CMAA affiliates reference an eight-hour exam, but that figure should not be assumed to apply to the US version without direct confirmation from CMAA.

What score do I need to pass?

The published US rule requires at least 70% overall and at least 50% in each of the ten scored parts. This ten-part structure is the current confirmed rule, even though CMAA also references eleven core competency areas in its curriculum materials.

Do I need CMAA membership to sit for the exam?

Yes. Professional membership is required, and no verified non-member exam fee or pathway currently exists. Eligibility also requires six years of Professional membership and 300 total credits before you can petition to test.

Understanding CCM certification means separating confirmed CMAA program details - the 400-question format, the ten-part passing rule, the fee structure, and the eligibility credit system - from unverified or region-specific claims that sometimes circulate online. For related foundational reading, see CCM Certification, What Is CCM Certification?, and CCM Training, and when you're ready to test your readiness against realistic question formats, start practicing here.

Ready to pass your CCM exam?

Put this into practice with free CCM questions across every exam domain.